Halberg Awards celebrating decade of champions postponed after Auckland's move to Alert Level 3

Source: 1News

The special Halberg Awards acknowledging New Zealand sports champions from the past decade has been forced to postpone following Auckland's move to Covid-19 Alert Level 3, organisers said today.

The 54th Halberg Awards

The Government moved Auckland to Alert Level 3 at 11:59pm last night for at least three days after three community cases were discovered in South Auckland yesterday morning.

As a result organisers said this year's Halberg Awards Decade Champion event, which was meant to be this Thursday evening at Spark Arena, has been delayed.

"We continue to work with our broadcast partner Sky Sport on reshaping the televised Awards ceremony which will now take place at a later date, so that we can announce and honour the decade champions," organisers said.

"While we are disappointed, we are unable to hold the live event, we support any decisions that protect the health and safety of all New Zealanders.

"Our small team of dedicated and committed staff have worked tirelessly to create the live event and we appreciate your patience and support as we adapt to the changing environment.

"Now more than ever we are reminded of the resilience shown by the many young athletes we support.

"This is summed up by our whakatauki, 'He waka eke noa, mō Aotearoa whānui' - We are all in this waka together, for all the people of New Zealand."

The Halberg Awards Decade Champion will celebrate outstanding New Zealand sporting achievements from the past decade. 

Previous Supreme Halberg Award winners are up for the title of Decade Champion while category winners of the decade will also be recognised in the Team, Para Athlete, Sportswoman, Sportsman, Coach and Emerging Talent Athlete awards.

There will also be a public vote for New Zealand's favourite sporting moment of the decade.

Full list of finalists for the Halberg Awards Decade Champions:

Halberg Award Decade Champion (supreme):  2010 All Whites (football), 2011 All Blacks (rugby), 2012 Men’s Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2013 Lydia Ko (golf), 2014 Men’s Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2015 All Blacks (rugby), 2016 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), 2017 Emirates Team New Zealand (yachting), 2018 Tom Walsh (athletics), 2019 Silver Ferns (netball).

Team of the Decade:  2010 All Whites (football), 2011 All Blacks (rugby), 2012 Men’s Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2013 All Blacks (rugby), 2014 Men’s Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2015 All Blacks (rugby), 2016 Men’s 49er, Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (yachting), 2017 Emirates Team New Zealand (yachting), 2018 Black Ferns Sevens (rugby), 2019 Silver Ferns (netball).

Para Athlete of the Decade:  2011 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), 2012 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), 2013 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), 2014 Mary Fisher (Para swimming), 2015 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), 2016 Liam Malone (Para athletics), 2017 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), 2018 Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing), 2019 Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

Sportswoman of the Decade:  2010 Dame Valerie Adams (athletics), 2011 Dame Valerie Adams (athletics), 2012 Dame Valerie Adams (athletics), 2013 Lydia Ko (golf), 2014 Lydia Ko (golf), 2015 Lydia Ko (golf), 2016 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), 2017 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), 2018 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), 2019 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing).

Sportsman of the Decade:  2010 Richie McCaw (rugby), 2011 Richie McCaw (rugby), 2012 Mahe Drysdale (rowing), 2013 Scott Dixon (motorsport), 2014 Brendon McCullum (cricket), 2015 Kane Williamson (cricket), 2016 Mahe Drysdale (rowing), 2017 Tom Walsh (athletics), 2018 Tom Walsh (athletics), 2019 Israel Adesanya (mixed martial arts).

Coach of the Decade:  2010 Ricki Herbert (football), 2011 Sir Graham Henry (rugby), 2012 Richard (Dick) Tonks (rowing), 2013 Sir Steve Hansen (rugby), 2014 Anthony Peden (cycling), 2015 Sir Steve Hansen (rugby), 2016 Gordon Walker (canoe racing), 2017 Gordon Walker (canoe racing), 2018 Gordon Walker (canoe racing), 2019 Dame Noeline Taurua (netball).

Emerging Talent Athlete of the Decade:  2010 Gareth Kean (swimming), 2011 Jacko Gill (athletics), 2012 Lydia Ko (golf), 2013 Gabrielle Fa’amausili (swimming), 2014 Regan Gough (cycling), 2015 Eliza McCartney (athletics), 2016 Campbell Stewart (cycling), 2017 Ellesse Andrews (cycling), 2018 Maddison-Lee Wesche (athletics), 2019 Alice Robinson (ski racing).

New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade:  2010 All Whites (football), 2011 All Blacks (rugby), 2012 Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan (rowing), 2013 Black Sox (softball), 2014 Brendon McCullum (cricket), 2015 Grant Elliott (cricket), 2016 Eliza McCartney (athletics), 2017 Mitchell Hunt (rugby), 2018 Anna Leat (football), 2019 Silver Ferns (netball).