Jacinda Ardern reveals ministerial positions; promotes Grant Robertson to Deputy PM

Anna Whyte
Source: 1News

Jacinda Ardern has revealed the ministerial positions for the new Government, with Grant Robertson being promoted to Deputy Prime Minister. 

The position was held by Winston Peters, whose New Zealand First party failed to return after last month's election. 

Ardern said Cabinet would have two priorities: the Covid-19 response and New Zealand's economic recovery. 

Ardern said the Government would "reflect the New Zealand that elected us".

In addition to being Prime Minister, Ardern said she would keep her child poverty reduction portfolio and also serve as Minister of National Security and Intelligence. 

In addition to Deputy PM duties, Robertson will continue to serve as Finance Minister and also focus on infrastructure, sport and recreation and racing. 

Kelvin Davis announced earlier today that he turned down the Deputy PM job. He will instead manage the children and corrections portfolios, and serve as an Associate Education Minister. 

Davis was also re-elected as deputy Labour leader.

Nanaia Mahuta will be Foreign Affairs Minister. She is the first woman to be New Zealand's Foreign Affairs Minister. 

Under an agreement with the Green Party which was signed yesterday, Marama Davidson will serve as Minister for the Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence and Associate Minister of Housing (Homelessness) and Shaw will again be Minister of Climate Change and Associate Minister for the Environment (Biodiversity).

See a full list of the Ministerial positions below. 

Chris Hipkins, meanwhile, is now Minister for Covid-19 Response. The portfolio includes border management.

“He is the right person to lead our ongoing work," Ardern said. 

He will also keep education.

Hipkins served as Health Minister for the end of the term after David Clark resigned following a string of missteps. 

Andrew Little will be Minister for Health.

Appearing on the tiles of Parliament this afternoon, Little said he is "confident of rising to the challenge" and "honoured" to be given the role.

Peeni Henare is now Associate Health Minister (Māori health) and will become Defence Minister. 

New MP Dr Ayesha Verrall will also be an Associate Health Minister. She stated that reaching the goal of a smokefree New Zealand by 2025 will be one of her major focuses.

Poto Williams will be Minister for Police, Michael Wood will be Minister for Transport, Kiri Allan will be Minister for Conservation. 

Clark also re-enters Cabinet, while Phil Twyford has been knocked out of Cabinet, holding positions outside Cabinet. 

Jacinda Ardern
Prime Minister
Minister for National Security and
Minister for Child Poverty Reduction
Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services
Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage

Grant Robertson
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Finance
Minister for Infrastructure
Minister for Racing
Minister for Sport and Recreation

Kelvin Davis
Minister for Māori Crown Relations:
Te Arawhiti
Minister for Children
Minister of Corrections
Associate Minister of Education (Māori Education)

Megan Woods
Minister of Housing
Minister of Energy and Resources
Minister of Research, Science and Innovation
Associate Minister of Finance

Chris Hipkins
Minister for COVID-19 Response
Minister of Education
Minister for the Public Service
Leader of the House

Carmel Sepuloni
Minister for Social Development and
Minister for ACC
Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Minister for Disability Issues

Andrew Little
Minister of Health
Minister Responsible for the GCSB
Minister Responsible for the NZSIS
Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
Minister Responsible for Pike River Re-entry

David Parker
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Oceans and Fisheries
Minister of Revenue
Associate Minister of Finance

Nanaia Mahuta
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Minister of Local Government
Associate Minister for Māori Development

Poto Williams
Minister for Building and Construction
Minister of Police
Associate Minister for Children
Associate Minister of Housing (Public Housing)

Damien O’Connor
Minister of Agriculture
Minister for Biosecurity
Minister for Land Information
Minister for Rural Communities
Minister for Trade and Export Growth

Stuart Nash
Minister for Economic and Regional Development
Minister of Forestry
Minister for Small Business
Minister of Tourism

Kris Faafoi
Minister of Justice
Minister for Broadcasting and Media
Minister of Immigration

Peeni Henare
Minister of Defence
Minister for Whānau Ora
Associate Minister of Health (Māori Health)
Associate Minister of Housing (Māori Housing)

Willie Jackson
Minister for Māori Development Associate Minister for ACC
Associate Minister of Justice

Jan Tinetti
Minister of Internal Affairs
Minister for Women
Associate Minister of Education

Michael Wood
Minister of Transport
Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
Deputy Leader of the House

Kiri Allan
Minister of Conservation
Minister for Emergency Management
Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Associate Minister for the Environment

David Clark
Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications
Minister for State Owned Enterprises
Minister of Statistics
Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission

Ayesha Verrall

Minister for Food Safety
Minister for Seniors
Associate Minister of Health
Associate Minister of Research, Science and Innovation


Aupito William Sio

Minister for Courts
Minister for Pacific Peoples
Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs
Associate Minister of Education (Pacific Peoples)
Associate Minister of Justice
Associate Minister of Health (Pacific Peoples)

Meka Whaitiri
Minister of Customs
Minister for Veterans
Associate Minister of Agriculture (Animal Welfare)
Associate Minister of Statistics

Phil Twyford
Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control
Minister of State for Trade and Export Growth
Associate Minister for the Environment
Associate Minister of Immigration

Priyanca Radhakrishnan
Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
Minister for Diversity, Inclusion and Ethnic Communities
Minister for Youth
Associate Minister for Social Development and Employment


Marama Davidson

Minister for the Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence
Associate Minister of Housing (Homelessness)

James Shaw
Minister of Climate Change Associate Minister for the Environment (Biodiversity)


Rino Tirikatene 
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the
Minister for Oceans and Fisheries
Minister for Trade and Export Growth (Māori Trade)

Deborah Russell 
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the
Minister of Revenue